11th September 2015

Prompt from thewritepractice.com:
“Today, spend fifteen minutes writing about the big, fat advance your newbie literary agent gets for you. Merchandise, a movie deal, a Pulitzer… whatever your heart’s desire, tell me what your agent does for you. When your time is up, post your practice in the comments section. Think BIG and have fun!”

Oh my word, I have gone from agonising over blowing my monthly budget on a €55 pair of shoes just before a trip to [European City] to releasing ragged sighs of relief and celebration. She loves my novella outline on my missionary mishaps and wants to extend it to a 30,000 word novel. My scribblings, roughly chucked together, more out of anguish and frustration than anything else, are worth something to somebody (who is willing to pay me in advance)! Just as my weariness of support raising was threatening to hammer me firmly into the floor, this comes up and blows away my woe.

I’ll have to talk to [boss] about this, but if I devoted 1-2 hours each morning plus one full work day to really ironing out this manuscript that would still leave me with 32-35 hours per week free to focus on discipleship, worship, as well as admin and all the boring stuff. That would work, right?!

Honestly, I was nervous asking [literary agent] about writing part time as I truly love the work I’m doing with the church, I felt pulled between the two. I had nothing to fear though, she urged me to continue doing both for as long as I could: adding that it would be a great source for future writing.

You know the feeling you get when you’re reeling from bad news, making you want to wake from the nightmare and finding you’re stuck? This is the exact opposite: I feel like I’m in an impossibly good dream that I never want to wake up from. My left arm is already starting to bruise from pinching myself. I wonder how I will react when the news finally hits the “this is reality!” part of my brain? A modulation from current sighs and smiles to jubilant shrieking and running around the room?

Oh Lord, You knew what You were doing all along, I just didn’t have the eyes to see it! To You who is able to do immeasureably more than all we ask or imagine, according to Your power that is at work in us, to You be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus (and in my writing!) throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Leave a Reply

